Red Koi Reviews

See what I've seen, hear what I've heard

The Door in the Floor

Posted by redkoireviews on 05/03/2006

The Door In the Floor PosterMy partner and I hired this DVD last night. Not exactly popcorn and laughs, it’s a rather dark portayal of a family in collapse and a young wanna-be writer who gets caught in the crossfire.

The acting was pretty good and the storyline strong enough, but it didn’t drag me into the characters lives like I thought it would. If you’re not making a statement, or using clever plots and effects, a movie has to emotionally grip it’s audience. “Door in the floor” does that up to a point, but is perhaps more of a ‘hold’ than a ‘grip’.

The movie was based on “A widow for one year” by John Irving which I’m interested in reading. However, like most movie – book pairs I suspect the book will be better, and the movie better for seeing it before reading the book. The Rotten Tomatoes reviews are worth reading. They give it 6.2 out of 10.

My Rating: 3 Stars

One Response to “The Door in the Floor”

  1. lena said

    I have read the book and thoroughly enjoyed it.
    It is a very well written epic in my opinion. I’ve read most of John Irving’s novels and it is one of my favourites. It’s been 8 years since I finished the book, so I’m actually interested to read it again and see how I find it now. I hope you will give it a try! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
