Red Koi Reviews

See what I've seen, hear what I've heard

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory

Posted by redkoireviews on 11/03/2006

Willy WonkaThis second film adaptation of Roald Dahl’s classic childrens book by director Tim Burton was excellent. Johnny Depp makes an excellent, if darker version of the Willy Wonka I met when I first read the book as a kid.

The plot is not 100% true to the original, but for once I didn’t mind, much. I found Charlie a little too saintly, but hey, it’s a kids story.

While Depp was excellent, the kids where not as good. I think Grandpa was one of the best performances.

My partner and I saw this on DVD, and unlike many DVD’s, the extras were worth watching. The Mini doco of Dahls life was really interesting and actually gave the film more . . . weight. See the Rotten Tomatoes review for a second opinion.
My Rating: 3.5 Stars

Leave a Reply

 
