Red Koi Reviews

See what I've seen, hear what I've heard

The Corpse Bride

Posted by redkoireviews on 19/03/2006

The Corpse BrideI think I’ve become a Tim Burton fan. This is the second film of his that I’ve seen in a row, and it was great. Tim knows how to tell stories. The Corpse Bride is a beautiful tale of love, horrible families, and the struggles that bubble up when two worlds collide.

Don’t be fooled into thinking this is a grim or gruesome tale – it’s actually very sweet, funny and poetic. The use of puppets and stop-frame animation somehow make the movie even more fable like. If it had of been done with ultra smooth computer models, it would have lost that quality.

I think I liked it slightly better than ‘Charlie and the Chocolate Factory‘. Perhaps it’s just because there was no book to read first, but I found The Corpse Bride more inventive somehow. The reviewers at Rotten Tomates seem to have like it too.

My Rating: 4 Stars

2 Responses to “The Corpse Bride”

  1. Marsha said

    I thought the vorpse bride was cute. It really wasn’t what I was expecting. I was entertained

  2. Yep, I have to admit that I thought it wuld be a lot darker than it was. I don’t know about ‘cute’, but entertaining and quite beautiful

Leave a Reply

 
