Red Koi Reviews

See what I've seen, hear what I've heard

Yachting on Sydney Harbour

Posted by redkoireviews on 08/05/2006

Yachting on Syndey HarbourOn the 8th May, I had ‘the big one’ – my 30th Birthday. When I thought about what I wanted to do to mark the occasion, I lost interest in big parties and lot’s of drinking, or restaurants and picnics. So I thought I’d take a few of my best friends out on a yacht on Sydney Harbour.

After some calls I hired a ‘Jarken 35‘ yacht from Sail Australia. It was skippered by a nice guy called Eddie and although deemed to be a lowly ‘budget’ yacht by the hire company, was perfectly fine for my purposes.

We had a lovely picnic lunch at Balmoral beach beforehand, then got onto the ‘Balmoral Star’ and slowly puffed past ferries and the truly beautiful Sydney Harbour. The weather was great and everyone got along really well.

It really was a great way to spend my 30th. Of course, there are a few other things I’m doing as well, like taking my actual birthday off and going to Brooklyn, and having dinner with my family.

So if your sick of the usual birthday celebration guff, I’d recommend spending the day out on one of the best harbours in the world.

My Rating: 5 Stars

Leave a Reply

 
