Red Koi Reviews

See what I've seen, hear what I've heard

Adams Apples

Posted by redkoireviews on 12/06/2006

Adam's ApplesWritten & directed by Dane Anders Thomas Jensen, ‘Adams Apples’ sets the standard for black comedy.

Take a mixture of pulp fiction gore humour, mix with characters from Fargo and your on the way to baking Adam’s apple pie. The black humour is not funny because it put’s violence out of context, it’s witty, sharp, and sometimes just bizarre. However what elevates the film above the rest of the pack is it’s exploration of good and evil. It has a lot to say about life.

It all starts innocently enough when neo-nazi Adam arrives at the local country church for community service. Local Minister Ivan finds Adams description of being ‘Evil’ in his CV as ‘just rude’ and simply not possible. Adam’s task is to bake an apple pie using the apples from the Church apple tree. It sounds simple, but quickly gets complicated, and at times bloody. For more, check out the Synopsis or the reviews on Rotten Tomatoes.

I loved this film. I laughed so loud I’m sure I would have annoyed those around me, except they too, where laughing.
My Rating: 5 Stars

One Response to “Adams Apples”

  1. Keith McFarland said

    I saw this movie at Sundance and it is my favorite movie of all time. I have searched the web in vain for a copy with English subtitles to no avail. Any ideas?

Leave a Reply

 
