Red Koi Reviews

See what I've seen, hear what I've heard

Plain Truth by Jodi Picoult

Posted by redkoireviews on 23/06/2006

Bookcover for I decided to read “Plain Truth” by Jodi Picoult because, well because it was around I didn’t feel like another Pratchett. As it turns out, I liked it.

Katie, a young Amish woman, wakes in the early hours of morning, stumbles out into a barn, gives birth and falls asleep with her premature newborn in her arms. When she wakes, the child is gone. Later, the child is found dead, apparently murdered. Ellie, a big shot city lawyer in mid-life crisis, winds up as Katie’s reluctant attorney. The rest is Boston Legal meets Amish documentary.

I found the book to be a classic ‘page turner’. So much so that I lost sleep last night staying up to finish it, while my work mates lost sleep getting up a 4am to watch the Socceroos play Croatia. How un-patriotic.

Men beware: This books is about feelings, love, families, and is dangerously close to ‘chick lit’. But don’t worry, there’s plenty of hard work’n men who shun feelings as if they where alien.

While not a classic or a challenging read, it was a good read.

My Rating: 3 Stars

Leave a Reply

 
