Red Koi Reviews

See what I've seen, hear what I've heard

“Paint your Dragon” By Tom Holt

Posted by redkoireviews on 30/07/2006

Paint your Dragon bookcoverMy Partner loves Tom Holt, and suggested this one would be a good one to start with. Tom Holt writes comic fantasy novels. They have a bit of a Pratchett leaning to them. This one is based on the legend of St George and the Dragon. In it, the classic ‘Good Vs Evil’ fight is back for a second round, except this time it gets very difficult to tell whose on which side.

Maybe I’m biased because I read most of it while I had a cold, but it just didn’t do it for me. The writing style tries to make over-the-top metaphors funny, and that just gets a bit boring after a while. None of the characters have a lot of depth or appeal. Although there is the whole ‘what’s good and what’s bad and what’s right’ theme going on behind the slapstick, it doen’t really carry the plot much further.

Having said all that, when my partner introduced me to Terry Pratchett, I didn’t like that much either. Perhaps they are both an acquired taste. Fellow wordpresser captainmaybe has also done a review you can read here.

My Rating: 2 Stars

One Response to ““Paint your Dragon” By Tom Holt”

  1. I agree that he is an acquired taste. I would suggest reading Goatsong, the Walled Orchard, Olympiad, the historical novels. It shows that he really is a very clever writer and might help with the appreciation.

Leave a Reply

 
