Red Koi Reviews

See what I've seen, hear what I've heard

Esbjörn Svensson Trio (E.S.T.)

Posted by redkoireviews on 20/01/2007

ESTAnother great Sydney Festival find. I didn’t know a single thing about E.S.T. but booked on the strength of the write up in the Sydney Festival guide. I wasn’t sure what to expect – EST are one of those bands that writers find difficult to describe. But whatever expectations I might have had where well and truly blow away.

EST are a Swedish three piece – piano, double bass and percussion. Their music is closest to Jazz, but they borrow from a range of other styles to meld a quite unique sound. They use some technical wizardry to change the sound of their instruments, or to create the impression of another instrument accompanying them. I’ve seen that kind of thing done before, but EST keep the black boxes tucked away, and use them them as a extension of their instrument rather than a sound gimmick. The result is some highly atmospheric music.

I bought their CD ‘Tuesday Wonderland‘ after the show and had it signed by all three! Having had a listen to it this morning, I recognised many of the songs, but also noticed how much of the improvisation and solo’s have been lost to the mercy of having to have 5 min songs on a recording. Some artists sound like their CD when they perform live, not so with EST. If you can, see them live.

Of the three performers, I think I liked the bassist Dan Bergland best. We was oh so comfortable with his instrument, able to produce the most extraordinary range of sounds, all divine. Amazing.

My Rating: 4.5 Stars

Leave a Reply

 
