Red Koi Reviews

See what I've seen, hear what I've heard

The Tao of Pooh

Posted by redkoireviews on 21/06/2007

I was searching for holiday reading material and discovered The “Tao of Pooh” on the shelves, owned by my partner. It’s a laymans introduction to Taoism, using Pooh bear from the Winnie the Pooh series of children’s books as the western example of what Taoism is all about.

It’s easy to read, and did give me a sense of what this philosophy is all about, but the tone is very anti-intellectual at times, which just annoyed me and put distance between me and the subject. On the upside, the idea that being too busy with detail, facts and figures can distract you from the bigger picture did resonate me. Perhaps that’s a contradictory reaction but that’s just what happened.

I won’t bother trying to explain Taoism itself – wikpedia does a better job than I would, or indeed the ‘Tao of Pooh’

My Rating: 2.5 Stars

Leave a Reply

 
